The Social Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A meeting place for die-hard Retrophiles.

HomePortalSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

substituting yarns

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
kamikat
Dipping a Toe in the Water
kamikat

Number of posts : 64
Registration date : 2008-02-03

substituting yarns Empty
PostSubject: substituting yarns   substituting yarns Icon_minitimeWed Feb 20, 2008 10:10 am

I have a project in mind that calls for Bernat Nylo Germantown. I haven't had a luck finding it on eBay. The pattern calls for size 7 needles, so my guess would be a worsted. My confusion comes from the fact that on the same page, there is another pattern using the same yarn that calls for size 10 needles ad the next page uses the same yarn with size 4 needles. Since I'm brand new to knitting, should I just take the book into my LYS and have the owner tell me what to get? (if it helps with recommendations, I'm allergic to wool).
Back to top Go down
lindydiva
I get my mail here.
lindydiva

Number of posts : 875
Registration date : 2008-01-02

substituting yarns Empty
PostSubject: Re: substituting yarns   substituting yarns Icon_minitimeWed Feb 20, 2008 12:51 pm

What's the year of the pattern?

Germantown was a type of yarn back in the day.

As for different needle sizes, that does happen. Ex.: sock yarn for socks (1s or 2s). The same yarn, for baby clothes...you'd use a 3 or a 4.

If you wanted to make something airy, like lace or a very light wrap, you might knit the same yarn with 8s....

A great deal depends on drape.
Back to top Go down
http://artdecodivaknits.blogspot.com/
kamikat
kamikat

substituting yarns Empty
PostSubject: Re: substituting yarns   substituting yarns Icon_minitimeWed Feb 20, 2008 1:49 pm

I hope this works. I'm having flickr problems, so if pic doesn't show, I'll try to link to my flickr site later.

substituting yarns Pic02211